(BCS) Diploma In IT (Level 5) (BCS002)

This is the Diploma level of Higher Education Qualifications.

This level is the academic equivalent to Year 2 of a UK university honours degree and is recognised by the Qualifications and Curriculum Authority (QCA) as Level 5.

By beginning the Diploma in IT level course BCS assumes knowledge of the Certificate in IT level modules (or exemption) and focuses on the following:

  • Professional Issues in Information Systems Practice (Core Module)
  • Computer Networks
  • Database Systems
  • IT Project Management
  • Object Oriented Programming
  • Systems Analysis & Design
  • Principles of Internet Technologies
    (this module has replaced The Internet & World Wide Web and is not available for online registration)
  • IT Service Management
  • Software Engineering 1
  • Principles of User Interface Design

More information about these modules is available on the Syllabus page.

BCS recommends a minimum of 225 hours study per module. The course culminates in a 2 hour written exam focusing on the one core module and each of the three optional modules of your choice.

Professional Project

In order to finish the Diploma in IT level candidates must complete a project.  Recommended minimum study time of 200 hours.


1,533 total views, 2 views today

British Computer Society

Recent News