(BCS) Professional Graduate Diploma In IT (Level 6) (BCS003)

This level is the academic equivalent to Year 3 of a UK university honours degree.

It is recognised by the Qualifications and Curriculum Authority (QCA) as Level 6.

By beginning the Professional Graduate Diploma in IT level course BCS assumes knowledge of the Certificate in IT and appropriate Diploma in IT level modules (or exemption) and focuses on the following:

  • Advanced Database Management Systems
  • Management Information Systems
  • Software Engineering 2
  • Computer Services Management
  • IT and the Environment
  • Distributed and Parallel Systems
  • Knowledge Based Systems
  • Network Information Systems
  • Programming Paradigms
  • Realising the User Interface
  • System Design Methods
  • Web Engineering

More information about these modules is available on the Syllabus page.

BCS recommends a minimum of 250 hours study per module and the course culminates in a 3 hour written exam focusing on four of the above modules of your choice. Please be aware that practical experience is required to answer some parts of the exam.

Professional Project

In order to finish the Professional Graduate Diploma in IT level candidates must complete a project, which will be the academic equivalent of a UK university honours degree project and has a recommended minimum study time of 300 hours.


1,364 total views, 2 views today

British Computer Society

Recent News